Vintage Post Junkie
Vintage Post Junkie
meble-kuchenne.warszawa.pl
Has liked: 479 times
Been liked: 221 times

Am I doing something wrong?

Post by IMOCD »

Evn' all
I'm very new to recording with a mic. I have just purchased a sm57 and a Tascam 2488 (graduated from Zoom R8) to get the juices flowing so to speak. Currently, I have the mic less than an inch from the speaker cloth and both the track slider and master slider at 0, but in order to get a signal that peaks at -16db (at best), I have to pretty much max the input gain which introduces a lot of hiss.

It does sound really good with the gain backed off but the signal is low -32db.. Is my understanding correct, should I be aiming for a stronger signal to ensure my master track has oomph, or is it better to keep it low and boost in post? Could there be something up with the mic maybe?

Thanks in advance. Wayne

JHorner
Vintage Post Junkie
Vintage Post Junkie
Has liked: 394 times
Been liked: 488 times

Re: Am I doing something wrong?

Post by JHorner »

I'd be more inclined to suspect something wrong with the what, 15? year old tascam than the SM57 (if it's genuine).

Do you still have the zoom? You could try the SM57 with that.

Scooter13
Vintage Post Junkie
Vintage Post Junkie
Has liked: 40 times
Been liked: 69 times

Post by Scooter13 »

What are you recording? I found SM57s like a loud input, like a cranked guitar amp to get going. I found them quiet for voice. You otherwise you better have good mic preamps

IMOCD
Vintage Post Junkie
Vintage Post Junkie

Post by IMOCD »

Scooter13 wrote:What are you recording? I found SM57s like a loud input, like a cranked guitar amp to get going. I found them quiet for voice. You otherwise you better have good mic preamps
Hmmm...that's good to know. I am recording guitar (5 watt tube) at bedroom levels. OK, so maybe I just need to adjust expectations for lower level playing. Cheers.

IMOCD
Vintage Post Junkie
Vintage Post Junkie

Post by IMOCD »