SixGunLover
Ashton
Ashton
meble-kuchenne.warszawa.pl
Has liked: 35 times
Been liked: 13 times

Complete beginner to electronics - recommended resources

Post by SixGunLover »

I apologize if this has been answered 5000 times already - I've done some more general Googling and found a few things that might be helpful (a couple of old electronics books that were recommended in a few places), but I thought I'd ask here, closer to home, as we have a ton of very knowledgeable people here.

I'm quite keen to learn electronics with the goal of working towards being able to mod or even make my own pedals and eventually amplifiers. I assumed the fewer components and less lethal voltages in pedals would be a better place to start. As well as being another useful skill, at the moment for me time is more freely available than money so it seems like I could potentially save a few dollars.

Where would you recommend a complete beginner starts? Embarrassingly, I'm talking about someone who vaguely remembers having to do electronics for a year in high school (I'm now 34) and foolishly paying zero attention, who has never raised a soldering iron in anger.

Is there a book that would serve as my bible?
Is there a series of YouTube videos or channels that you've found helpful?
Should I do a course?
Would you recommend I climb the snowy peaks of Mt. Cook in search of a wise mentor who will instruct me in the mysterious ways of the circuit?

Cheers for the help. Any tips or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

sizzlingbadger
Vintage Post Junkie
Vintage Post Junkie
Has liked: 1200 times
Been liked: 1398 times

Re: Complete beginner to electronics - recommended resources

Post by sizzlingbadger »

This is widely considered the bible for anyone studying Electronics.

https://www.amazon.com/Art-Electronics- ... 0521809266
Tube amp and guitar tones straight from 1958… amazing how believable the sounds were back then, even without the modellers...

Miza
Vintage Post Junkie