Pedal manufacturers in here...

Moderators: Slowy, Capt. Black

michael_m
Stagg
Stagg
meble-kuchenne.warszawa.pl

Getting ripped off?

Post by michael_m »

Why are pedals so expensive? Even on trademe, I have to fork out hundreds of dollars for even half-decent pedals. I'm new to this whole thing, so can someone clear it up for me if I'm getting ripped off for paying this kind of money? It seems to me that building your own is much much cheaper. Am I right?

jeremyb
Chorus of Organs
Has liked: 7746 times
Been liked: 4187 times

Re: Getting ripped off?

Post by jeremyb »

Building your own is not really any cheaper than a boss pedal second hand that does effectively the same thing, but you get the enjoyment of building it and having something a bit different, if you want cheap effects get a multi-effects pedal unit :)
Slowy wrote: That's the problem; everything rewarding is just such hard work. Regret takes much less effort.

shinenz
Vintage Post Junkie
Vintage Post Junkie
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 4 times

Post by shinenz »

jeremyb wrote:get a multi-effects pedal unit
Digitech if you can
Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one's courage

Aquila Rossa
Vintage Post Junkie
Vintage Post Junkie
Has liked: 166 times
Been liked: 104 times

Post by Aquila Rossa »

jeremyb wrote:Building your own is not really any cheaper than a boss pedal second hand that does effectively the same thing, but you get the enjoyment of building it and having something a bit different, if you want cheap effects get a multi-effects pedal unit :)
It's matter of buying the right pedal.
Just because a good handmade overdrive may go for 300-500 new, it doesn't mean every other pedal with a similar price tag is anywhere near as good. You have to get to know what is good and what the resale value on TM is.
For $100 bucks on TM you can get some good pedals.
Last week I picked up a MXR Zakk Wilde Overdrive in brand new condition for $100, a steal really and a great sound.