A good acoustic in the $1-1500 range?

All things guitar, Les Pauls, Strats, Teles, Tokai, Ibanez etc. etc. etc.

Moderators: Slowy, Capt. Black

Pastasauce
Vintage Post Junkie
Vintage Post Junkie
meble-kuchenne.warszawa.pl
Has liked: 2 times
Been liked: 30 times

Post by Pastasauce »

I am an absolute acoustic guitar noob.

But I'm thinking of selling the MIM Strat, saving a bit and spending somewhere in the $1000-$1500 range for a nice acoustic guitar. My wife has always wanted a Taylor, so that will definitely get a look in. But that said, I'm sure she could be talked around. :D

I know this is one of "those" threads... and I promise I am not on the red wine. But are certain models/brands known for the quality of their construction at this price point?
Last edited by Pastasauce on Sun Mar 25, 2012 9:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rickenbackerkid
Vintage Post Junkie
Vintage Post Junkie
Has liked: 208 times
Been liked: 656 times

Re: A good acoustic in the $1-1500 range?

Post by rickenbackerkid »

Check out the Cole Clark Fat Lady 1. Also low end Larrivees are in that bracket and sound amazing.

or add another zero and get a Lowden O10, my favorite ever guitar.

WellyBlues
Vintage Post Junkie
Vintage Post Junkie
Has liked: 523 times
Been liked: 354 times

Post by WellyBlues »

Someone else will, no doubt, remind you to try first.
I bought one for my wife, but in the $400-$500 range. It ended up being a Fender. Took her along with me. What was interesting was that they all felt different to her and me and she liked the feel of the Fender best. And the sound was much better than anything else in the price range we tried. Even the Takamine's, which I thought might have been better didn't sound as good.

Some of them sounded quite muddy,dull, call it what you will. The Fender had the best sound so it was all good in the end, but the variation between brands suprised me. In the end it wasn't a hard decision to make.