NGD's- Gibson Haul

All things guitar, Les Pauls, Strats, Teles, Tokai, Ibanez etc. etc. etc.

Moderators: Slowy, Capt. Black

chrisbower
Squier
meble-kuchenne.warszawa.pl
Has liked: 23 times
Been liked: 29 times

NGD's- Gibson Haul

Post by chrisbower »

My guitar collection has taken a massive U turn recently having sold most of my shredder type guitars in favour of more traditional ones.

As most of you have probably noticed on here, I've been after a Gibson Les Paul Custom for a while. It's been thee 'holy grail' guitar ever since I started playing guitar and seeing my teachers Black Beauty. Well, earlier this week I finally made it happen, but that wasn't without picking up another couple of Gibson's on the way.

#1 - Gibson SG Special 1971 Walnut

It was quite lucky how I stumbled upon this.. I was searching the NZ guitar groups on Facebook for Les Paul Customs. I noticed a guy had a 70's LPC for sale quite a few months back but I thought what the hell, I'll see if it's still available. It wasn't, however he asked me if I'd be interested in an early 70's SG Special. Damn right I would!

It's had a professional neck repair done back in 80's (confirmed by my local luthier as an excellent job), some binding pieced back together, original bridge swapped in favour of a hardtail (preferable for me), schaller tuners added, and the fretboard was as dry as the Sahara, but... it looked in great condition overall and had the original pickups, pots/electronics and the original case.

A whole load of fretdoctor, new strings and a setup later and it plays utterly awesome and sounds amazing! I wasn't sold on the comfort of an SG at first but I've quickly grown to love this guitar. It's the one I find myself reaching for the most.

#2 - Gibson Les Paul Special Double Cutaway Custom Shop 2006 TV White