Beginning all over again - Electric queries

All things guitar, Les Pauls, Strats, Teles, Tokai, Ibanez etc. etc. etc.

Moderators: Slowy, Capt. Black

motoadv
Stagg
Stagg
meble-kuchenne.warszawa.pl

Beginning all over again - Electric queries

Post by motoadv »

Hi,

Its been about 10 years since I played my last electric and that was a custom made guitar back then. Now 10 years later the itch has risen up again and I did manage to lay my hands on a decently cheap acoustic, to figure out if it would be worth the investment on an electric guitar.

I am on a rather tight budget of $200 - $250 max and was looking up the possible options available in that range. But since I am new to this country and brands available here, I thought this would be a good place to get some answers.

Brands I have seen in that range
1) Squier by Fender - I know this is the low range guitars from the house of Fender and my first thoughts are "Go for it", but what is the large difference between the Squiers and Fenders even though they are heaven and earth apart on prices?

2) Artist Guitars - Have seen quite a few of these on Trade Me and a few music shops in the city and wondering if they are worth the buzz. I have been told that these are great economy type guitars that sound great as well. Any advice on this brand and their electrics?

3) Aria Guitars - Again have only heard about this brand, though their website looks good and the guitars look great as well, any advice on considering this brand's electrics?

Any other options I have left behind in my hunt for that electric in my price bracket? Is that even a practical price bracket to have?

Look forward to opinions and answers
Nakul Patel
- Johnny Be Goode - A riff I would love to play someday -

JHorner
Vintage Post Junkie
Vintage Post Junkie
Has liked: 394 times
Been liked: 488 times

Re: Beginning all over again - Electric queries

Post by JHorner »

Squier Standard is decent and can be had in that price range used on trademe